top of page
Writer's pictureAnson

Not an April Fool - I’m now a pensioner 😬

Updated: Nov 30, 2023

One certainty about having Stage 4 cancer is that life is way more unpredictable. The rollercoaster analogy of riding the highs and lows doesn’t do the reality justice; at times January and February have felt more like being part of a Demolition Derby, being smashed off-course, each hit seeming like it could be the final one before you are truly stopped in your tracks. Here’s a summary of what’s happened during the first quarter of the year that has resulted in my becoming a pensioner today.


I had a scheduled MRI scan of the Head and Neck, plus a CT scan of the lungs on 19th January. These scans were to determine if my immunotherapy treatment was working or not. A follow-up phone call at the end of the month came with good news and bad news. The good news was that the lung tumours across both lobes showed shrinkage, and that no new lesions were found, providing the first evidence that immunotherapy was doing its job there. So yay.


However, the CT scan also suggested a new bony lesion at the base of my thoracic spine, that looked like it was already starting to impinge the spinal cord. A MRI scan of the spine was now needed to characterise what they found more fully.




As you might imagine this was devastating for David and I, but also perplexing. How could the immunotherapy be suppressing tumour growth in the lungs, but not in the spine? Whatever our questions, the impact was still the same – the spine is the third most likely place where cancer spreads to (after the lungs!) and spinal metastases felt like the very definite beginning of the end, as the spread of my cancer sounded text-book.


Alongside these revelations, since December 2021 I have also been going through the process of sorting out early retirement due to ill health. My plan was to retire at the end of the academic session (September 2022), which would allow me to take a final sabbatical (April-May-June) to write another paper, and then celebrate exactly 30 years of being at UCL. In terms of my pension, early retirement could have been a minefield to navigate, but the Head of Pensions at UCL took my case on and he could not have been more supportive. Lots of forms had to be filled in, including from the oncology team, but he liaised with them, my employers and USS (my pension provider) to minimise the stress to me, and for that I am hugely grateful.


It was through this process that I saw for the first time (in January) my life expectancy written down by the oncologist in black and white: 12 months on average from time of first diagnosis, meaning my life expectancy might not extend beyond the summer. Putting it bluntly, working through to the end of the academic year might have been optimistic. It was then obvious that I had to apply to retire earlier (although I still wanted to see Term 2 out, to give my students the education they deserved after a year of pandemic), hence why I appreciated the help given by Head of Pensions immensely.


As an outpatient, getting a new MRI scan of the spine proved difficult due to Covid backlog and lengthy waiting times, so eventually I was admitted as an in-patient at Barts hospital for the follow-up MRI on 3rd February. Being an in-patient meant that my scan would also be looked more quickly; indeed the next day I got the best news ever, that the lesion in my spine was actually a herniated disc protrusion, and not cancer after all.





The MRI of the herniated disc looks quite dramatic, and you can see where it is impinging on the spinal cord, but I can’t feel anything at all, and apparently this is more normal than not.




Crucially, it is also calcified, which suggests that it's an old ‘injury’ (likely decades). The neurologist told me to carry on as normal, which was a huge relief as I've a couple of major ultramarathons planned in the very near future (but more on that in the next blog post).


But since these revelations, it is absolutely the right time to stop work, as my oncologist's prognosis was irrespective of this spinal diversion. While I’ve enjoyed every last minute of teaching this term, and doing the proof corrections for our latest Baikal paper (now out!), my spare mental capacity is minimal, and I can’t imagine planning my courses for next year, or applying for a research grant to take me through the next 2-3 years. I know that I’m very lucky to able to take early retirement. But it’s still feels poignant; academia has been my life, so it’s sad to have to let it go this way.




But it's not in me to be maudlin for long. The prognosis highlighted above is only an average, which has huge amounts of caveats. And for those who know me, I’ve never been average; often the outlier. And although a lefty, I fully intend to occupy the far right of the curve below from now on.


3,275 views12 comments

Recent Posts

See All

12 Comments


bacconslice
May 09, 2022

I've been enthralled by Lake Baikal for over a year now and decided to use it and diatoms in the sedimentary records as part of an Ancient Lake presentation for the Conservation Paleontology class that I'm in!


That's how I've ended up here, and I wanted to say thank you; for all the effort and love you put into your work and the students you've had! I hope that you continue to live an enriched life and crush those marathons!


-Jade

Like
Anson
Anson
May 10, 2022
Replying to

Aw, thank you Jade! I hope your presentation goes / went well!

Like

Hélène Neveu Kringelbach
Hélène Neveu Kringelbach
Apr 20, 2022

I've only just read your latest post, and was shocked to read about your latest developments. Hugely thankful that there was no metastasis in your spine after all! You are so right, an average says nothing about your individual case, and if someone can defy the odds, it's you... Keep running, and keep inspiring us all with your beautiful writing!

Like

jeremyjlangley
jeremyjlangley
Apr 06, 2022

It's always hard to know what to write, and so I write and delete and write again. I love your writing, and you are right, prognosis is not destiny, and we only have now anyway.


You always seem to be capable of feats of endurance that seemed designed to shame the rest of us (because it's always about me when I'm lying on the sofa, inflated as an otter, reading your running posts ;-)) and so I cannot think of a single reason why you won't be on the far right in three years time, for the first and (hopefully) last time in your life. Happy to chip in for a Telegraph sub if that's what it takes. xx

Like
Anson
Anson
Apr 06, 2022
Replying to

❤️😂

Like

nikita sud
nikita sud
Apr 04, 2022

Sending you love and strength as you fight this. It hit too close to home last year, and I have some sense of the rollercoaster you are on. Take care. Rooting for you.

Like

bretmalingart
Apr 03, 2022

Anson,


Pensioner, scientist, runner extraordinaire!


Your blog is brilliant and poignantly written, so very heartfelt and inspiring. You truly are an inspiration to us on so many levels. Your smile always lights up the world around you and your intellect and healthy/fit way of life transforms us into better human beings. Keep showing us how to live life fully and to fight for the rights of all. Your strength is immeasurable.


💜💪🌈🏃🌈🌷💜


With love and admiration 🥂, I look forward to seeing you in 2022.


Warm regards,

Bret

Like
bottom of page